Connection & Re-connection FAQs

in Connection & Re-connection FAQs

What is the re-connection process to connect a satellite service back to an existing account/can I use my existing SIM card to re-connect the service?

Re-connecting your phone or device is as easy as calling the friendly Customer Care team on 1300 882 448 (Australia), or 0508 882 448 (New Zealand). You’ll need around 10 minutes, its usually as simple as completing a quick voice recording to confirm your re-connection and plan details.  We can usually get your service up and running within the hour.

What can I do with my service if I am not using it throughout the year?

Some of our satellite services have a suspension option, this option allows you to suspend your service for up to 6 months, in any 12-month period, at a cost of $10 per month.

Another option is to disconnect your service, and then re-connect it later, however this option does mean you will be issued a new satellite phone number at re-connection, and if you don’t have an active account you will need to sign up again to our network service agreement which can usually be done over the phone.

The best option will depend on your personal circumstances, please call our Customer Care team on 1300 882 448 (Australia), or 0508 882 448 (New Zealand), to discuss what options are available for you.

I would like to suspend my inReach device. Can you do this for me?

All plan changes on your inReach device, including suspension, must be arranged via the online portal. This is due to the requirement to sync your inReach device with the new plan.

Please follow these steps to change your plan

  1. Go to alwaysinreach.com.au (AU), or www.alwaysinreach.co.nz (NZ)
  2. Click on ‘Login’ –  top right hand corner of the home page
  3. ‘Sign In’ – existing customer
  4. Enter the associated email address and click ‘Next’
  5. Enter your password and click ‘Sign In’

NOTE: If you have forgotten your password, click on the forgot password link on this page and Garmin will send you a password reset link to your email address.

Click the “Plans & Devices” tab

Under subscription click ‘Edit’

Select “Change Plan” for a different active plan or “Suspend” and follow the prompts.

IMPORTANT: Immediately after any plan change you need to synch your inReach device to the online portal. This way your device is up to date.  The plan change will void if you fail to properly synch your device.

If you have any difficulty just call our Customer Care team on 1300 882 448 (Australia), or 0508 882 448 (New Zealand) and we can talk you through the process.

How do I re-connect my inReach device?

If you want to re-connect an inReach device that had previously been connected with Pivotel and used the online portal service, re-connecting is as easy as calling the Customer Care team on 1300 882 448 (Australia), or 0508 882 448 (New Zealand). You’ll need to allow around 10 minutes.  Re-connecting is usually as simple as completing a quick voice recording to confirm your re-connection and plan details and we can normally get your service up and running within 48hours.

What happens to my service after the original contact term has expired? Will it automatically stop and I won’t be charged anymore?

The original contract term is a minimum term only. Once your minimum term has expired, your service will remain connected and your contract continues month to month basis. If you wish to disconnect your service after the minimum term, please call our Pivotel Customer Care team on 1300 882 448 (Australia), or 0508 882 448 (New Zealand) and they can arrange this for you.